Utah Consumer Privacy Act (Utah Code 13-61-101 et seq.)

Below is what the official text of Utah Consumer Privacy Act (Utah Code 13-61-101 et seq.) states about whom it covers, when it applies to a business and since when. Where the pages we read do not say, the row says "not stated".

The wording shown is taken from the official page named in each row. The duties of a business and the contents of a privacy notice are in the paid checklist.

Typical situations, run through the same conditions as the check

Judged on 2026-10-06. Our law data was last verified on 2026-10-06; a law that took effect after that date is not in it. These situations leave other answers blank or neutral: use the check for your own.

What the official text states

QuestionWhat the official text statesSource
What it coversProtects Utah consumers' personal data and binds controllers and processors that do business in Utah or target Utah residents and meet the revenue and volume tests.
Official wording
This chapter applies to any controller or processor who:
le.utah.gov
read 2026-10-06
When it applies to a businessApplies to a controller or processor that conducts business in Utah or produces a product or service targeted to Utah residents, has annual revenue of $25,000,000 or more, and either controls or processes personal data of 100,000 or more consumers in a calendar year, or derives over 50% of gross revenue from the sale of personal data and controls or processes personal data of 25,000 or more consumers.
Conditions to check: Exempt (13-61-102(2)): governmental entities and their contractors, tribes, institutions of higher education, nonprofit corporations, HIPAA covered entities and business associates, financial institutions governed by GLBA and their affiliates, air carriers, and many data categories (PHI, FERPA, FCRA, employment-context data, purely personal or household processing). 'Conducts business in the state' and 'targeted' are not defined in the quote; we test whether you have users there, which is only a proxy. From 1/1/2027 a motor vehicle manufacturer that manufactures vehicles sold or leased in Utah and collects personal data through a vehicle data collection system is also covered (per the 1/1/2027 version in the compilation we read).
Official wording
(1) This chapter applies to any controller or processor who: (a) (i) conducts business in the state; or (ii) produces a product or service that is targeted to consumers who are residents of the state; (b) has annual revenue of $25,000,000 or more; and (c) satisfies one or more of the following thresholds: (i) during a calendar year, controls or processes personal data of 100,000 or more consumers;
le.utah.gov
read 2026-10-06
In force from2023-12-31
2022 S.B. 227 section 17: 'This bill takes effect on December 31, 2023.'
Official wording
This bill takes effect on December 31, 2023.
le.utah.gov
read 2026-10-06
Privacy noticeIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—
Consent and opt-outIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—
Rights of individualsIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—
Data protection officerNot stated on the official pages we read.
the text read does not say whether a data protection officer or privacy officer must be appointed
—
Breach notificationNot stated on the official pages we read.
separate breach-notification statute not read
—
What the privacy notice must containIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—

What we do not cover

These areas are outside this site, so nothing on this page says anything about them:

Check my business All laws