Virginia Consumer Data Protection Act (Va. Code 59.1-575 et seq.)

Below is what the official text of Virginia Consumer Data Protection Act (Va. Code 59.1-575 et seq.) states about whom it covers, when it applies to a business and since when. Where the pages we read do not say, the row says "not stated".

The wording shown is taken from the official page named in each row. The duties of a business and the contents of a privacy notice are in the paid checklist.

Typical situations, run through the same conditions as the check

Judged on 2026-10-06. Our law data was last verified on 2026-10-06; a law that took effect after that date is not in it. These situations leave other answers blank or neutral: use the check for your own.

What the official text states

QuestionWhat the official text statesSource
What it coversProtects consumers' personal data and binds persons who conduct business in Virginia or target Virginia residents and meet the volume thresholds.
Official wording
This chapter applies to persons that conduct business in the Commonwealth or produce products or services that are targeted to residents of the Commonwealth and that
law.lis.virginia.gov
read 2026-10-06
When it applies to a businessApplies to persons that conduct business in Virginia or produce products or services targeted to Virginia residents and that, during a calendar year, control or process personal data of at least 100,000 consumers, or of at least 25,000 consumers while deriving over 50 percent of gross revenue from the sale of personal data.
Conditions to check: Excluded entities (59.1-576(B)): Commonwealth and local government bodies; financial institutions or data subject to Title V of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act; HIPAA covered entities and business associates; nonprofit organizations; institutions of higher education. Many categories of data are also exempt (59.1-576(C)), e.g. HIPAA protected health information, FERPA data, FCRA-regulated credit data, employment-context data. 'Conduct business in the Commonwealth' and 'targeted to residents' are not defined in the quote; we test whether you have users there, which is only a proxy. The definition of 'consumer' (59.1-575) was not read.
Official wording
that conduct business in the Commonwealth or produce products or services that are targeted to residents of the Commonwealth and that (i) during a calendar year, control or process personal data of at least 100,000 consumers or (ii) control or process personal data of at least 25,000 consumers and derive over 50 percent of gross revenue from the sale of personal data.
law.lis.virginia.gov
read 2026-10-06
In force from2023-01-01
2021 Acts of Assembly Sp. Sess. I ch. 35, 4th enactment: the first and third enactments become effective January 1, 2023 (later amendments, e.g. 2022, 2024, 2026, are in the live Code).
Official wording
4. That the provisions of the first and third enactments of this act shall become effective on January 1, 2023.
legacylis.virginia.gov
read 2026-10-06
Privacy noticeIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—
Consent and opt-outIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—
Rights of individualsIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—
Data protection officerNot stated on the official pages we read.
the text read does not say whether a data protection officer or privacy officer must be appointed
—
Breach notificationNot stated on the official pages we read.
separate breach-notification statute not read
—
What the privacy notice must containIncluded in the paid checklist. See the checklist—

What we do not cover

These areas are outside this site, so nothing on this page says anything about them:

Check my business All laws